Are grasshoppers halal?
Grasshoppers are a group of insects that are believed to be one of the most ancient living creatures in the world. This plant-eater insect is considered a pest in some countries but used as food as well in other parts of the world.
The example of grasshopper as food can be found in neighboring countries such as Indonesia and Malaysia. Recently, Malaysian sisters in Kota Baru successfully run a business of an exotic snack, that is fried grasshopper and starts a chain supply to serve customers in Johor, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, and Pahang. So yes, the grasshopper is halal.
In fact, there are lots of 'exotic' food in the world that Muslims are allowed to eat. Some of them might be super uncommon for us, but it is halal and consumed by Muslim at the other part of the world.
The grasshopper is one of the animals that is given special status as halal by sharia law. This is stated in a hadith:
“Two kinds of dead meat and two kinds of blood have been permitted to us. The two kinds of dead meat are fish and locusts, and the two kinds of blood are the liver and spleen.” (Baihaqi)
Hence, it's pretty common to eat grasshoppers. Thailand, Indonesia, and Uganda are some of the countries that commonly consume grasshoppers.
Sea urchin or uni is something you often see in a Japanese restaurant. If you ever wonder how it taste like but still have doubt if it's halal or not, we are delighted to assure you that it is halal.
This sea creature is considered as seafood that is allowed to be consumed by Muslims as stated in the Quran:
"It is lawful for you to hunt and eat seafood, as a provision for you and for travelers. But hunting on land is forbidden to you while on pilgrimage. Be mindful of Allah to Whom you all will be gathered." (Al Ma'idah:96).
Have you tries horse meat? While that sounds odd for some of us, a region in Yogyakarta, Indonesia is actually serving horse meat as its signature dish. Horse satay, stew, and soup are some of the most common horse meat dishes you can try.
There is no ayat in the Quran that prohibits us to eat horse meat as well as some of the hadith mentioned that Prophet Muhammad permitted his ummah to do so.
"Narrated from Jabbir Bin Abdillah (RA), The Prophet(PBUH) forbade on the day of Khaybar from eating domesticated donkeys however he permitted horses” (Tirmidzi)
Some of us wouldn't have the heart to eat this fluffy animal, but it is halal. Italy, France, Venezuela, Egypt, and Spain are some of the countries that regularly consume rabbits. Closer to home, you can find rabbit satay at the street hawkers in the Kaliurang region of Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
Bison meat is pretty much similar to beef, only lower in calories and perhaps harder to find. As long as the bison are slaughtered in a sharia way, the meat is allowed to eat.
Just like beef, bison meat can be made into dishes like stew, meatballs, and burger patties. Some of the popular ways to eat it are to serve it with berries and currants chutneys.
Similar to other cattle, reindeer is halal as long as is slaughtered in sharia ways. In fact, there's a company in Norway that's preparing the first-ever halal reindeer meat for Muslim customers!
"Say (O Muhammad SAW): "I find not in that which has been inspired to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it unless it be Maytatah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork, etc.) for that surely is impure…" (Al An'am:145)
There are so many halal foods we never try and heard of before. Hence, never give up to find halal food wherever you go!
Find out more halal recommendations from HHWT on these articles: