icon
icon
article hero

Is Läderach SG Halal? Here’s Everything You Need To Know

AvatarName

Qistina Bumidin •  Feb 23, 2022

icon

When you think of Switzerland, one of the first few things that would pop up in your mind is their chocolate! From being the pioneers in creating milk chocolate to being known for having one of the smoothest texture and creamiest-tasting chocolates in the world, it’s definitely a must-try for chocolate lovers! This heavenly delight has also landed on our shores and we’re treated to plenty of stores selling Swiss chocolate, one of which being Läderach Swiss Chocolatier. It first opened in 2019 at Jewel Changi Airport, before expanding to two more outlets: Takashimaya B2 Food Hall and Westgate. Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://bit.ly/3LnFN1F
Credit: @culivinary for InstagramThey are touted as one of the best selling chocolates in Switzerland and offer amazing selections perfect for gifts or souvenirs. Their chocolate is relatively expensive, but its fresh, high quality keeps customers coming back for more! Yet this begets the question: Is it truly safe for us Muslims to consumers? We checked their website, and also reached out to Läderach Swiss Chocolatier Singapore. P.S. We have also written a series of articles about the Muslim-friendly status of popular overseas food products and you can check them out right here:

Halal Or Not?: Läderach Swiss Chocolatier In Singapore

What does their website say?

Credit: @weatewhat_sg for InstagramAccording to their website, their products are not halal-certified. However, the Läderach products in Singapore do not contain alcohol or gelatin. Läderach also has stores in many Muslim-majority countries such as Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Qatar, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia. Some of their products are also vegetarian- and vegan-friendly, such as their Vegan Dark Chocolate, but consumers are advised to check and assess the ingredients list accordingly to their preferences. 

Are Läderach products made from ingredients sourced from halal-certified suppliers?

Credit: @janatewhat for InstagramWe also reached out to Läderach, and a staff member at their Jewel outlet further said that the reason why their products are not halal-certified is that their chocolates in Singapore are made in the same kitchen in Switzerland as other chocolates that may contain alcohol or gelatin. We searched up the list of products made in their chocolates and found that all of their ingredients, such as the emulsifiers used are also soy- and plant-based. 

Should you eat Läderach?

Credit: @weatewhat_sg for InstagramSimply put, it's up to you. Here at HHWT, we understand and respect that everyone has their own level of comfort when it comes to determining whether certain foods are suitable for their consumption. While some may prefer that all their food items come from halal-certified establishments, others may be comfortable consuming products from places that may not be halal-certified so long as the products they consume do not contain haram substances. We hope that the information provided will help you come to your own conclusion. We do recommend doing your own checks if in doubt and consuming at your own discretion.Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://bit.ly/3LnFN1F