5 Things To Know About Interstate Travel And Inter District Travel In Malaysia


Cheng Sim •  Oct 21, 2020

[Updated 22 May 2021]

As Malaysians are pulling through the pandemic, Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin will be implementing MCO, CMCO and RMCO in selected states in Malaysia. If you're still uncertain about the regulation on interstate travel and inter-district travel in Malaysia, we're here to help!

State of emergency in Malaysia

  • On 12 January 2021, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has proclaimed a nationwide state of emergency (darurat) until 1 August 2021.
  • Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced that the Emergency is not a military coup and no curfews will be enforced
  • Read more about the state of emergency (darurat) in Malaysia!

MCO 3.0 nationwide in Malaysia

Starting 12 May 2021, the Malaysian government has implemented MCO nationwide until 7 June 2021, following the spike of COVID-19 cases in Malaysia. Here's a full list of states and federal territories that are placed under MCO.

MCO (12 May - 7 June 2021)

  • Selangor
  • Kuala Lumpur
  • Kelantan
  • Johor
  • Penang
  • Sabah
  • Sarawak
  • Kedah
  • Melaka
  • Negeri Sembilan
  • Pahang
  • Perak
  • Perlis
  • Terengganu
  • Putrajaya
  • Labuan

1. Interstate travel is not allowed nationwide

2. Inter-district travel is not allowed nationwide

3. Cross border travel has been suspended in RMCO areas

4. Work from home policy will resume for government and private sector employees

5. Only 3 people per vehicle are allowed

  • Only 3 people per vehicle are allowed in personal vehicles, taxis, and e-hailing rides including the driver, according to the Ministry of Health

While we're persevering through the pandemic in Malaysia, we hope that you continue to do your part and stay safe wherever you are. For more updates, check out our recommended reads below.